By films Site

Previous editions

  • 1995

  • A Hundred Years of Short Films 

    The Festival celebrates a hundred years of cinema with a historical retrospective of short films, ranging from the pioneers Lumière brothers, Georges Méliès and Edwin S.Porter, until the present-day Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Jorge Furtado and Roy Anderson. The retrospective also includes classic directors such as Charles Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, John Ford, and D.W. Griffith, innovative filmmakers such as Luís Buñuel, François Truffaut, and Alain Resnais, experimental artists such as Maya Deren, Bert Haanstra and Zbigniew Rybczinski, and also Manoel de Oliveira, Nick Park, Alexander Kluge, and many others. 

    The Brazilian Panorama offered 63 films and the Brazilian Retrospective was dedicated to animated movies. Other highlights in the special programs are: Japanese animation; films by the short film agency from Hamburg through a selection of works dealing with homicide as a theme; films by the Italian agency Corto; films by the growing cinematography from New Zealand, and the authorial work of Danish filmmaker Torben Skjodt Jensen.